Organizational Structure

Graphic explaining the organizational structure
Click to enlarge the graphic

Core Planning Team:

Provost Michele Gillespie will chair, along with three faculty vice-chairs. They will lead a representative faculty and staff group in the significant endeavor of translating the collective input on our distinctions into a focused set of themes, with our future vision at the center.

  • View the full team


    Provost Michele Gillespie

    Vice Chairs

    • Amanda Griffith, Associate Professor and Chair of economics
    • John Knox, Henry C. Lauerman Professor of International law
    • Corey Walker, Wake Forest Professor of the Humanities and Director of African American studies. 


    (in alphabetical order)

    • Phil Anderson, Associate Teaching Professor, School of Business
    • Grey Ballard, Dunn-Riley Faculty Fellow and Associate Professor of Computer Science
    • Shea Kidd Brown, Vice President for Campus Life
    • Regina Cordy, Assistant Professor of Biology
    • Mary Foskett, Wake Forest Kahle Professor, John Thomas Albritton Fellow, and Chair of the Department for the Study of Religions
    • Michael Gross, Professor of Engineering and David and Lelia Farr Faculty Director for the Center for Entrepreneurship
    • Philip Howard, the Joseph M. Bryan fellow in Banking and Finance and Assistant Professor
    • Ana Iltis, Carlton Professor of University Studies, Professor of Philosophy, and Director of the Center for Bioethics, Health, and Society
    • Nina Lucas, Professor and Chair of Dance and Theatre
    • Gregory Parks, Professor of Law
    • John Sumanth, James Farr Fellow and Associate Professor of Management
    • José Villalba, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer
    • Jonathan Walton, Presidential Chair of Religion and Society, Dean of the School of Divinity and Dean of Wait Chapel 

Thematic Working Groups

By taking deep dives into each respective theme, they will bring back to the Core Planning Team an analysis of where we are currently and where we should focus forward in terms of our current, emerging and aspirational distinctions.

University Resource Group (URG)

Led by Senior Advisor Julia Jackson-Newsom and comprised of senior administrative and staff leaders, this group will define our current and future capabilities and capacities in the domains of space, people and financial resources such that our Strategic Framework is actionable.

  • View the full group

    Abigail Brumfield​, ​Director of Strategic Initiatives, Campus Life

    Stephanie Carter, President, Staff Advisory Council; Director, Residence Life & Housing

    Brett Eaton​, ​Senior Associate Vice President, Communications & External Relations

    Phil Handwerk​, ​Assistant Provost, Office of Institutional Research

    Beth Hoagland, Senior Assistant Provost for Budget and Administration

    Malika Roman Isler​, ​Associate Vice President for Inclusive Excellence, Office of Diversity and Inclusion

    Dedee Delongpré Johnston​, ​Vice President for Human Resources and Sustainability

    Eric Maguire, Vice President, Enrollment

    Hof Milam​, ​Executive Vice President

    Mur Murchane, Vice President for Information Technology & CIO

    Emily Neese​, ​Vice President, Finance, Strategy and Planning

    Tim Pyat​t, ​Dean, Z. Smith Reynolds Library

    John Shenette​, ​VP for Facilities and Campus Services

Advisory Network:

Vice President Mark Petersen will lead this network, which will enable the input of our alumni and key supporters. This will also provide a mechanism for capturing the expertise in strategic thinking that rests within our Board of Trustees, and our Boards and Councils across the University.

  • View the full network

    Don Flow, Trustee

    Curt Farmer, Trustee

    Marybeth Hays, Trustee

    Gary Pinkus, Trustee

    Serena Dugan, Trustee

    Jermyn Davis, Trustee

    Mit Shah, Trustee

    Jim O’Connell, Trustee

    Hannah VanderWiede Shue, Trustee

Inclusive Excellence

Embedded in this work, President Susan R. Wente has charged Vice President José Villalba to regularly convene with the Core Planning Team and with representatives from each of the Thematic Working Groups to ensure that best practices in promoting inclusive excellence are woven throughout the resulting cohesive, actionable framework.